Reckless driving is a serious offence. If someone is charged with reckless driving in Virginia, their entire future is at stake. If convicted, they face up to five years in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $10,500.
Find out more about your legal rights and options. If you are charged with reckless driving and your case is to be dismissed or reduced, you need a defense attorney with experience in the area of reckless – negligent defense. The courtroom can be a confusing place. A person is charged with reckless driving if a law enforcement officer believes he or she was driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other dangerous substances.
If found guilty, the person faces a maximum fine of $500. The statutory provisions on reckless driving make it possible to reduce or dismiss the charge. The court has the power to reduce a reckless driving to a less serious improper driving. Consider traffic offenses, as opposed to criminal charges, and reduce their charges.
Even if the person has a clean driving license, an experienced Lawrenceville lawyer who is reckless behind the wheel can reduce their fees.
In the face of reckless driving, many people are tempted to give up hiring a lawyer and represent themselves in court. The offense remains on your file and may even prevent you from getting the job you want or passing a simple background check. In some states, like Virginia, you may not even have to go to court. When you work with an experienced lawyer, you get his full attention and have a better chance of being better prepared for your day in court.